When you delete a Mastodon server, the federated content is not deleted on remote servers. So, if you want to request remote servers to delete your server's data from their end, before stopping the server Self-destruct, needs to run, and this can take many hours or even days to finish.
If you want to run Self-destruct on your Masto.host hosted server, please email email@example.com to request it before your server suspension/deletion.
- If you have a backup of your server and you attempt to restore it in the future after Self-destruct was issued, remote federation will likely not work for servers that followed your Self-destruct request.
- If you plan to use the same domain/subdomain in the future to host an ActivityPub server and you do not run Self-destruct, that may lead to federation problems.
- If you want to download a server backup, you should do that before running Self-destruct.
- There is no guarantee that remote servers will respect Self-destruct and delete your data. They may be temporarily offline or using ActivityPub software that does not support the requested deletion.
- Remote users that bookmarked, favourited, replied, or interacted with your server in another way will/may lose that on their end.